The Mélong and the three jewels of the great yogi

The Mélong and the three jewels of the great yogi

The Meaning
Motion, mindfulness and meditation are the three points of focus within the Three Jewels Method. Many yoga instructors and studio owners present the art and science of yoga solely as a physical workout. All over the country, studios and gyms are offering yoga classes designed to help participants shed pounds and increase their cardio. Unfortunately, these classes lack any practice or even discussion of mindfulness and meditation. The result is students who may know many poses, but are mentally, energetically, and spiritually imbalanced. In this sense, it's better to refer to these places as asana studios, rather than yoga studios.

The yoga studio should be a place of transformation. It can become an integral part of the community with powerful tools for young people and adults to achieve authentic balance in their lives.

The Symbols
Motion, mindfulness and meditation are at the root of a great yoga practice. They are indispensable on the path of the yogi. Therefore, we consider them precious.

The Motion jewel is colored red, which symbolizes fire or heat. The Mindfulness jewel is colored yellow, which symbolizes richness. The Meditation jewel is colored blue, which symbolizes clarity and wisdom. The Mélong is white, which symbolizes space and openness.

The Eightfold Path and the Three Jewels Method
For those familiar with the Indian system of yoga (Hatha), the chart below demonstrates how the Eight Limbs (Ashtanga) correspond to the Three Jewels Method.

The goal of a dedicated yoga practice is to bring enlightenment through balance and harmony. This is known as Samadhi (Bliss).